This is the "Home" page of the "Writers on Writing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writers on Writing  

Last Updated: Jan 25, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cesuvt.org/content.php?pid=706764 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Writers on Writing

Cover Art
Big Magic - Elizabeth Gilbert
Call Number: 153.3 Gilbert
The author suggests attitudes, approaches, and habits, to foster inspiration, offer solace, and empower us to live a full and creative life. E-book also available.

Cover Art
Autobiography of Mark Twain - Mark Twain; Harriet E. Smith (Editor); Robert Hirst (Editor); Harriet Elinor Smith; Victor Fischer (Editor); Michael B. Frank (Editor); Benjamin Griffin (Editor); Sharon K. Goetz (Editor); Leslie Diane Myrick (Editor); Bancroft Library Staff (Contribution
Call Number: 813.4 Twain
Presents the first of three volumes of the uncensored autobiography of American author Mark Twain, in which he dictated spontaneously about whatever was on his mind at the moment, and includes explanatory note

Cover Art
Bird by Bird - Anne Lamott
Call Number: 813.5 Lamott
A step-by-step guide on how to write and how to manage the writer's life. Includes information on how to get started, move beyond first drafts, and discusses writer's block, writing groups, and publication

Cover Art
Ernest Hemingway on Writing - Larry W. Phillips (Editor); Charles Scribner (Foreword by); Ernest Hemingway
Call Number: 813.52 Hemingway
A collection of Ernest Hemingway's best remarks on the subject of writing, including what writing is and does, the qualities of a writer, how to know what to write about, establishing sound writing habits, and improving what you have written.

Cover Art
On Writing - Stephen King
Call Number: 813.54 King
An account of Stephen King's childhood, a series of vivid memories from adolescence, college and the struggling years leading up to his first novel, "Carrie." The author then takes the reader through some crucial aspects of the writer's craft, from plot and character development to work habits and rejection. Includes an account of King's recovery from a nearly fatal accident in 1999.

Cover Art
Secret Windows - Stephen King
Call Number: 813.54 King
Articles, advice, recommendations, and essays on the craft of writing are combined with a collection of previously unpublished early fiction and short stories.

Cover Art
In Other Words - Jhumpa Lahiri; Ann Goldstein (Translator)
Call Number: 813.6 Lahiri
A collection of autobiographical stories written after Jhumpa Lahiri moved to Italy and immersed herself in the Italian language.

 

Author Biographies & Memoirs

Cover Art
Walt Whitman - Milton Meltzer
Call Number: 811.3 Whitman
A biography of the nineteenth-century poet, which presents his life in the context of his times, and includes samples of his writing, a chronology, a list of Walt Whitman websites, and suggested reading.

Cover Art
Robert Frost - Jay Parini
Call Number: 811.52 Frost
A biography of American poet Robert Frost that reveals a complex and enigmatic man who dealt with adversity, family tragedy, and depression during his life. Covers the time he spent in New Hampshire and Vermont.

Cover Art
Bitter Fame - Anne Stevenson
Call Number: 811.54 Plath
A comprehensive biography of the American writer Sylvia Plath describing her childhood, her college years at Smith College, her marriage to English poet Ted Hughes and the birth of her two children, her productive years as a successful writer, her lifelong battle with depression, and her suicide in 1963 at age thirty.

Cover Art
To Be Young, Gifted and Black - Lorraine Hansberry; Robert A. Nemiroff (Adapted by); Jewell Handy Gresham Nemiroff (Preface by); James Baldwin
Call Number: 812.54 Hansberry
Lorraine Hansberry assembles plays, essays, letters, drawings, and photographs, to tell her life story, a life of passion, engagement, and spectacular accomplishment, from her childhood in Chicago where the family encountered fierce resistance in the white neighborhood they moved into, to her arrival in New York and the first night of her famous and successful play, A Raisin in the Sun, to her tragic death from cancer at the young age of thirty-four.

Cover Art
Poe - Peter Ackroyd
Call Number: 813.3 Poe
Chronicles the life of nineteenth-century American horror and mystery author Edgar Allan Poe, and describes Poe's difficult childhood, personal relationships, vices, and literary accomplishments.

Cover Art
Mark Twain - Geoffrey C. Ward; Ken Burns; Dayton Duncan
Call Number: 813.4 Twain
An illustrated biography of Mark Twain that examines his well-known novels, stories, travelogues, lectures, diaries and letters with 275 illustrations and photographs from throughout his life. The book also includes essays on the writer by Russell Banks, Jocelyn Chadwick, Ron Powers and John Boyer and a recent interview with actor Hal Holbrook.

Cover Art
Sorrow's Kitchen - Mary E. Lyons
Call Number: 813.52 Hurston
Describes the life and work of the prolific African American author who wrote stories, plays, essays, and articles, recorded black folklore of the South and the West Indies, and was successfully involved in the Harlem Renaissance. Includes descriptions of her childhood in Florida and her struggle for an education.

Cover Art
Jack London - Alex Kershaw
Call Number: 813.52 London
Jack London's life was as dramatic as any of his stories. Raised in poverty as an illegitimate child he dropped out of school to support his mother, working in mind-deadening jobs that fostered a lifelong interest in socialism. Brilliant and self-taught, he haunted California's waterside bars, brawling with drunken sailors and learning about love from prostitutes. His lust for adventure took him from the beaches of Hawaii to the gold fields of Alaska, where he learned firsthand about the struggle for survival in a challenging environment immortalized in his novels White Fang and The Call of the Wild. Hard-drinking womanizer, fighter, onetime hobo, Jack London lived large and died before his fortieth birthday.

Cover Art
Growing Up - Russell Baker
Call Number: 813.54 Baker
Pulitzer prize-winning writer Russell Baker shares his memories of growing up between the two world wars, telling of his life in Virginia, New Jersey, and Baltimore, and discussing his loving mother and family, teachers, schoolmates, and how they all survived the Depression years.

Cover Art
Desolate Angel - Dennis McNally
Call Number: 813.54 Kerouac
A biography of Jack Kerouac, the author who was one of the catalysts for a radical change in American literature, culture, and life-styles. Describes his childhood in the mill town of Lowell, MA, the constant shadow of his older brother who died at 10, and his years at Columbia where he met Allen Ginsberg, William S. Burroughs,a Neal Cassady, a group of friends who together became a legend. Also describes his frenetic cross country journeys, his experiments with drugs and sexuality, his travels to Mexico and Tangier, the literary success of On the Road, and his final years of decline and depression.

Cover Art
I Am Scout - Charles J. Shields
Call Number: 813.54 Lee
An exploration of the life and achievements of Harper Lee that discusses her Southern upbringing in Monroeville, Alabama, her education, family, the writing and success of "To Kill a Mockingbird" including the development of the story and the characters, her friendship with next door neighbor Truman Capote, and her strong-willed personality.

Cover Art
The Seuss, the Whole Seuss and Nothing but the Seuss - Charles Cohen
Call Number: 813.54 Seuss
Published to celebrate the Seussentennial (100 years of imagination) this biography explores the life and career of Theodor Seuss Geisel, better known as Dr. Seuss, through an investigation of his early work, interviews, and writings.

Cover Art
The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid - Bill Bryson
Call Number: 813.6 Bryson
A funny and nostalgic memoir of growing up in 1950s Des Moines, Iowa.

Cover Art
A House of My Own - Sandra Cisneros
Call Number: 813.6 Cisneros
A collection of essays spanning the author's career and reflecting upon the various places she has called home around the world, from the Chicago neighborhood she grew up in to her abode in Mexico, the home of her ancestors.

Cover Art
My Reading Life - Pat Conroy
Call Number: 813.6 Conroy
Novelist Pat Conroy reflects on how reading has influenced his life and discusses the people and books that have shaped his writing.

Cover Art
Stories of My Life - Katherine Paterson
Call Number: 813.6 Paterson
Winner of multiple literature awards, Katherine Paterson is often asked the following three questions: How did you become a writer? Where do you get your ideas? How does it feel to be famous? Here, with humility and warmth, she tells the anecdotal stories of her childhood, complemented by photos and letters, growing up with missionaries, living in Japan as a single woman, and raising four children while becoming one of America'a most beloved writers.

Cover Art
An American Childhood - Annie Dillard
Call Number: 818.54 Dillard
An autobiography describing the author's childhood and life in Pittsburgh during the fifties.

Cover Art
The Brontes - Juliet Barker
Call Number: 823.809 Barker
A selection of letters that reveal the authentic voices of Charlotte, Emily, Anne, their brother Branwell and father, Reverend Patrick Bronte from 1821 to 1855. Includes a Bronte chronology.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip